Making an Idol from Anyone

Image

These last couple of years, my life has gotten ridiculously crazy.  When I was younger, I used to look up to people I wanted to be like.  As I got older, I realized how many hobbies (and sometimes habits) I had picked up from my friends.  Many of them are good; some of them are not.  But I have learned one important thing: If there is ever anything I want to do or anyone I want to be like, all I have to do is keep that inspiration in mind and I can go anywhere with it.

In the last couple of busy years of my life, when I wasn’t sure where I was going or what I should be doing, I would come across someone who inspired me.  This is sometimes a celebrity figure, like Kate Middleton.  More often than not, it’s someone who isn’t famous.  This latter kind of inspiration is even better because it is more realistic.

If it weren’t for some incredibly smart friends at my school, I would have never aspired to be like them, study hard, take on a lot of challenging classes, and pull up my grades.  If it weren’t for some people further into their careers that I read about, I would have never had the courage to take on my second major and study abroad to learn my second language.  If it weren’t for the girl I met in Africa abroad, I would have never had the guts to take the summer off and travel by myself.  If it weren’t for some beautiful people I’ve met through my hockey travels, I would never have aspired to be as determined of a player or as a person as I am now.  Even people who dress nicely are an inspiration to get up in the morning, work out, and make an effort to look good at school.  You just need to pick an inspiration and stick with it!

You can change the world by first changing yourself – for the better!

Leave a Reply

