physics and life.

Last night, I was driving with my friend Minnie from her house on the north side of Charlotte, North Carolina to Indian Trail, just before the South Carolina border.  We’re playing in the Southeastern Region districts and, if we win, we will be traveling to Boston for USA Hockey Nationals.  We had just carpooled from Raleigh and had a lot of long conversation about life right now.  And school.  And GMOs.  And Physics.

“I hated Electromagnetism,” said Minnie.

“Really?  Physics II?  I hated Physics I.”

“Physics I, I can understand that.  I can SEE it.  Electrons?  No.  I can’t see it.  It doesn’t work for me.”

“Huh…for me, because  I can see it, I think I know what I’m looking at and I make false assumptions.  With Physics II, I’m given the rules that I can’t see, so I work within those constraints…”

“I see,” said Minnie.  “With the stuff you can see, you transpose your experiences too easily on what you’re doing and you cloud the truth.”

“Yeah, I overanalyze it…”

Just like life.

I overanalyze life.

I’ve noticed lately I’ve become more and more confused by things that are simple.  I’ve been over-thinking everything.  I’m never sure anymore what’s a real answer or an appropriate response to an emotionally-charged situation.  I keep longing to just tell everyone to slow down and just stop overcomplicating things when they could just be so simple.  And knowing that there are simple answers just makes my complicated outlook that much more confusing and unbearable.

So life as of late has become my Physics I while my head is so occupied with Physics II, with the itty bitty pieces that are making things work but the itty bitty pieces that I also can’t manipulate, the ones that will do what they do without my help.

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

